Pictures from the Faculty Art Exhibit at Sheridan College

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Faculty Exhibit presents a wide range of new works by faculty and staff from Sheridan’s Faculty of Animation, Arts and Design. The exhibit runs from November 1 – 15, after which an exhibit by students from Sheridan/UTM’s joint Art and Art History program will run in the gallery from Nov. 22 – Dec. 6.

Sheridan’s Art Gallery is located in the AA-Wing of Trafalgar campus, 1430 Trafalgar Rd., Oakville, ON. It is free to enter, and the hours of operation are Monday-Thursday 10am – 7pm, and Friday 10am – 5pm.

For inquiries about the gallery, contact lynne.murray@sheridancollege.ca

Arts and Letters Event at Sheridan College Celebrates New Works by Faculty in Literature and Film

Earlier this week, the Faculty of Animation, Arts and Design came together with the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences to celebrate new works in literature and film. Macdonald Heaslip Hall was beautifully arranged in the style of a coffee house for the opening of the event, in which faculty authors met with guests and sold signed copies of their newly published works. Deans Has Malik and Ronni Rosenberg were in attendance to introduce the authors, Provost Mary Preece spoke and college president Jeff Zabudsky was also there to enjoy the show.

Included among authors from the Faculty of Animation, Arts and Design were:

Michael Walsh, poet and author of Roughin’ it in the Bush;

Mary Lu Zahalan, cum laude graduate of the first Master’s program on the Beatles and author of Cultural Capital: The Beatles in Canada.

Heidi Overhill, co-author of Design Direct, which explores how digital manufacturing and the Web have led to new opportunities for designers to work as entrepreneurs.

Joe Morse, internationally acclaimed illustrator whose most recent book is Hoop Genius, How a Desperate Teacher and a Rowdy Gym Class Invented Basketball, written by John Coy.

Nancy Beiman, Animator and instructor at Sheridan College and Author of Prepare to Board and Animated Performance.
Once everyone settled at a table with their supper, three authors read from their works. First time author Sarah Peters read from her new book 1996, followed by Paul Vermeersch, who read an ode to Coco the Ape, followed by his new work The Reinvention of the Human Hand. Ian Williams finished off the readings with his popular collection of poems based on Missed Connections ads, Personals, and other experimental pieces.

After the poetry reading, attendees made their way to Sheridan’s movie theatre in 235 SCAET to view the documentary about Bachelor of Photography co-ordinator, Rafael Goldchain, directed and produced by another Arts faculty member, Vlad Kabelik: Beautifully Broken.It was my first time viewing the full film, and I found it to be remarkably moving. Rafael, like myself, is a human composite of many different cultures. For him: Polish, Jewish, Chilean, Irish and Canadian (and for me: English and French Canadian, Irish, British and Ugandan – I could relate). In the film, Rafael takes his son on a trip to Poland and Israel to connect with the source of their cultural identities. Throughout, Rafael uses photography to make sense of his identity and aging.After the screening, Vlad and Rafael, along with executive producer and Associate Dean Sandy McKean answered questions from the audience about how the film was made, what it meant to each man, and how it was working together. Their answers revealed a great trust between them, and an obsession with telling the story Beautifully Broken, which took 3 years to produce.The Arts and Letters Creativity Showcase was a wonderful event for catching up with fellow faculty at Sheridan College to see what they have been producing outside of the classroom.You can watch Beautifully Broken on TVO:

  • Wednesday, May 15, 2013 at 9:00 p.m. and midnight EST
  • Friday, May 17 at 10:00 p.m.
  • Sunday, May 19 at 11:00 p.m.

Please contact the faculty if you are interested in their new works:

Mike Walsh mike.walsh@sheridancollege.ca

Mary-Lu Zahalan marylu.zahalan@sheridancollege.ca

Heidi Overhill heidi.overhill@sheridancollege.ca

Joseph Morse joe.morse@sheridancollege.ca

Nancy Beiman nancy.beiman@sheridancollege.ca

Sara Peters sara.peters@sheridancollege.ca

Paul Vermeersch paul.vermeersch@sheridancollege.ca

Ian Williams ian.williams3@sheridancollege.ca

Vladimir Kabelik vladimir.kabelik@sheridancollege.ca

Rafael Goldchain rafael.goldchain@sheridancollege.ca

css.php