Canadian Musical Theatre Writers Collective Celebrates Launch

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When Hugh’s Room said “Standing Room Only” for this performance highlighting Sheridan talent, they meant it! On a Monday night, March 24, the Dundas Street West venue was so packed with supporters of the Canadian Musical Theatre Writers Collective (CMTWC) that getting a chair required some serious negotiation. It was the second CMTWC event in as many weeks, the first on Broadway at New York’s 54 Below on March 17. Among the performers were Sheridan students, alumni and local talent, such as Jeff Madden, Chilina Kennedy, Katie Kerr, Dana Jean Phoenix, and the always charming Charlotte Moore hosted the show, which featured CMTWC works and more purely Canadian content.

The concerts were held to celebrate the launch of CMTWC, a collective of Canadian composers, lyricists and book writers who have been involved in the Canadian Music Theatre Project (CMTP), an initiative produced by Associate Dean of Visual and Performing Arts Michael Rubinoff at Sheridan College. The Canadian Music Theatre Project is an incubator for productions by Canadians and for Canadians, which has so far work shopped several musicals right here at Sheridan College, including: Come From Away by Irene Sankoff and David Hein, Central Park Tango by Sheridan faculty Robert Gontier and Nicky Phillips, The Theory of Relativity by Neil Bartram and Brian Hill, and Marathon of Hope by John Connolly and Jim Betts.

Members of The Brian Linehan Charitable Foundation Advisory Board were in attendance along with past recipients of the prestigious Brian Linehan Triple Threat Award recipients from Sheridan’s Music Theatre Performance program.

If the success of Monday night’s performance is at all telling of what is to come for CMTWC/CMTP and Canadian Musical Theatre, the future is bright for our young performers.

To learn more about the collective, contact

To learn more about Sheridan’s Performing Arts programs, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *