Media Arts grads nominated for Canadian Cinema Editors Award


Panelists (From Left to Right) Kerry Davie, Andrew Clark, Lisa Barley, Sharon Zupancic and Kelly O’Keefe. Photo courtesy: Mollie Hyde-Whipp, first-year Broadcast journalism student.

Two Sheridan Media Arts graduates have been nominated for the 2015 Canadian Cinema Editors awards. Simon Marcroft and Haya Waseem will both represent Sheridan at the award show being held on June 4th at the Delta Hotel in Toronto.

Marcroft has been nominated in the Lifestyle/Factual/Reality category for his work on “Income Property, Ep 119” while Waseem received her nomination in the best documentary category for “Stay Aubrey,” which was directed by Sheridan faculty member Vladimir Kabelik. Stay Aubrey made its premiere at the TIFF Bell Lightbox in November. You can read more on the documentary here.

Sheridan’s Victoria McGlynn hosted a paneled discussion sponsored by CCE that focused on picture editing for reality and lifestyle television programming, Marcroft’s category. The event received high praise from many Sheridan students who attended the event to learn more about CCE’s educational offerings in the art and science of editing. In the words of first-year Broadcast journalism student Rachael Aragona, “On Thursday, April 9, the Canadian Cinema Editors hosted an event called Let’s Talk Reality at Deluxe in Toronto. The panel discussion, featuring Kerry Davie, Andrew Clark, Lisa Barley, Sharon Zupancic and Kelly O’Keefe focused on the challenges in editing reality television. The discussion was moderated by Victoria McGlynn, who currently teaches in the Bachelor, Film & Television, Broadcast Journalism and New Media programs at Sheridan with over ten years of experience in the Canadian Television Industry. The panel was received enthusiastically by students and audience members.

Congratulations to the nominees and for all their hard work during the year.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *