Sheridan graduates win big at 43rd Annie Awards

The 43rd annual Annie Awards, honouring the year’s best achievements in the field of animation and sponsored by the International Animated Film Society (ASIFA-Hollywood) were presented on Saturday, February 6, 2016 at Royce Hall at the University of California in Los Angeles. Eleven Sheridan grads and one current student were nominated for awards, and all were in attendance together with President Jeff Zabudsky and Bachelor of Animation Associate Dean Angela Stukator.

Sheridan professor and AMPAS member: Nancy Beiman

BY: LUCAS CASALETTO As Oscar season heats up, we turned to Animation faculty member Nancy Beiman, who will cast one of the votes on the nominated entries. Nancy has been a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) since 1996. AMPAS members get advanced screenings of films in the Academy theatre in Los Angeles. There are also special screenings in New York, San Francisco, London, England, Vail, Colorado, although none in Toronto. Nancy described the process of being asked to be a member of the AMPAS.